You are not signed in. Sign in.


Category IT Books

CompTIA Security+ 2008 In Depth » (New Edition)

Book cover image of CompTIA Security+ 2008 In Depth by Mark Ciampa

Authors: Mark Ciampa, Alex Feher
ISBN-13: 9781598638134, ISBN-10: 1598638130
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Cengage Learning
Date Published: November 2008
Edition: New Edition

Find Best Prices for This Book »

Author Biography: Mark Ciampa

Mark Ciampa is Assistant Professor of Computer Information Systems at Western Kentucky University in Bowling Green, Kentucky, and holds a PhD from Indiana State University in Digital Communication Systems. Prior to this he was Associate Professor and served as the Director of Academic Computing at Volunteer State Community College in Gallatin, Tennessee, for 20 years. Mark has worked in the IT industry as a computer consultant for the U.S. Postal Service, the Tennessee Municipal Technical Advisory Service, and the University of Tennessee. He is also the author of many Cengage/Course Technology textbooks, including CWNA Guide to Wireless LANs 2ed, Guide to Wireless Communications, Security+ Guide to Network Security Fundamentals 2ed, Security Awareness: Applying Practical Security In Your World, and Networking BASICS.

Book Synopsis

"CompTIA Security+ 2008 In Depth" gives you the coverage you need to pass CompTIA's latest Security+ exam and to fully understand the current risks and threats to an organization's data. If you are just entering the IT field, you will appreciate the comprehensive coverage of the tools and techniques necessary to safeguard electronic data. You'll also learn everything you need to pass the Security+ exam and attain this increasingly valuable certification. All the domain objectives itemized by CompTIA in their Security+ exam are covered: systems security, network infrastructure, access control, assessments and audits, cryptography, and organizational security.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1: Introduction to Security;
Chapter 2: System Threats and Risks;
Chapter 3: Protecting Systems;
Chapter 4: Network Vulnerabilities and Attacks;
Chapter 5: Network Defenses;
Chapter 6: Wireless Network Security;
Chapter 7: Access Control Fundamentals;
Chapter 8: Authentication;
Chapter 9: Performing Vulnerability Assessments;
Chapter 10: Conducting Security Audits;
Chapter 11: Basic Cryptography;
Chapter 12: Applying Cryptography;
Chapter 13: Business Continuity;
Chapter 14: Security Policies and Training; Appendix A: CompTIA Security+ 2008 Examination Objectives Appendix B: Security Web Sites; Appendix C: Selected TCP/IP Ports and Their Threats; Appendix D: Sample Internet and E-Mail Acceptable Use Policy; Appendix E: Answers to Chapter Review Questions




No reviews. Submit yours!

Review this book.

We would like to know what you think about this book and publish your thoughts here! (top)

Your Review

  1. You may optionally give a title for this comment.

  2. Worst to best, 1 to 5, what would you rate this one?

  3. The actual content of your comment. No HTML nor whatsoever allowed.

  4. The author of this comment.

  5. What is opposite to yes?

    Please answer the question by common sense.